Request Information
Apply Now

Our Faculty

Meet the individuals who are moving the field forward.

The faculty of the Environmental Studies department have an international reputation for scholarship, as evidenced by the research published, awards granted and fellowships earned by department members. Click on faculty names for more information about each professor’s research, experience and contact information.


Beth Christensen
Program Director
Science Building, Room 220
p – 516.877.4174
e –
Heather Liwanag
Graduate Coordinator
Science Building, Room 118
p - 516.877.4210

Theresa M. Schlosser 
Administrative Assistant
Science Building, Room 201
p – 516.877.4170
e –

Associate Professors

Beth Christensen
Program Director

Assistant Professors

Jessica Dutton  

Adjunct Faculty

J. B. Bennington

Ruth Coffey

Ryan Ehrhart

Paul Errico

Emily A. Fogarty

Gus Kalogrias

J. Scott McMullen

Christine O’Connell

David Russo

Louis Siegel

Contributing Faculty

Anagnostis Agelarakis
Chair of Anthropology, Professor

Raysa Amador
Chair of Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Professor
Director of International Studies Program

Regina Axelrod
Chair of Political Science, Professor

Jonna Coombs
Biology, Associate Professor

John Dooher
Physics, Professor

Matthias Foellmer
Biology, Associate Professor

Aaren Freeman
Biology, Assistant Professor

Martin H. Garrell
Physics, Professor

Emily Kang 
Education, Assistant Professor

Joseph M. Landesberg
Chemistry, Professor

Heather Liwanag
Biology, Assistant Professor
Graduate Coordinator

Gottipaty N. Rao
Chair of Physics, Professor

Mariano Torras
Business, Professor

Andrea Ward
Biology, Associate Professor

Justyna Widera
Chemistry, Associate Professor

Brian Wygal
Anthropology, Assistant Professor


Contributing Adjunct Faculty

John Hunter
Biology Adjunct Faculty
Robert Lippman
Chemistry Adjunct Faculty
Career Minded?
A degree in Environmental Studies can take you down many different career paths.
See where you can use your degree
How to Apply
Get all the information you need to prepare a succesful application to Adelphi.
See admissions information
Volunteer Opportunities
Get involved with a local organization to help protect our environment.
Find out how to participate